EE Home

Welcome to the website of the Department of Electrical Engineering, I.I.T. DELHI.


The department of electrical engineering has been playing a vital role in producing scientists and technologists of highest caliber ever since it was established in the year 1961. The department runs three under graduate programmes and 9 post-graduate programmes to cater to the ever challenging needs of technical excellence in all areas of electrical engineering such as Integrated electronics and circuits, Tele-communications, Computer technology, Control & Automation, Power systems & Power electronics.

In addition to the strong undergraduate programs, the department has been playing a pioneering role in producing world class postgraduates and research scholars. The infrastructure and lab facilities are upgraded from time to time and provide adequate opportunities for students and researchers to learn and innovate. The department has distinguished faculty, all holding Ph.D. degrees from renowned institutes in India and abroad. There are two Fellows of IEEE in the department and many other faculty members are Fellows of several national and international scientific bodies. The faculty of the department has been constantly carrying out research on many cutting edge technologies and regularly publishes in IEEE and other top international journals. The department also undertakes many research projects sponsored by both the government and the industry.

Faculty Hiring: EE department is looking for outstanding applicants. Applications can be sent at anytime in the year. Kindly send your details to Prof. Bhim Singh and Prof. Santanu Chaudhury.

Post Graduate Admissions, May 2016

The PG admissions for the Electrical Engineering department will be held as per the following schedule (Updated 11 February 2016):

17 May 2016 (Tuesday):
  • M.Tech-Bharti School Of Telecom Technology And Management (JTM)
  • M.Tech-Opto-Electronics and Optical Communication (JOP)
  • M.Tech-VLSI Design, Tools and Technology (VDTT)

18 – 19 May 2016 (Wednesday – Thursday):
  • M.Tech-Communication Engineering (EEE)
  • M.Tech -Control and Automation (EEA)
  • M.Tech-Computer Technology (EET)
  • M.Tech-Integrated Electronics and Circuits (EEC)
  • M.Tech-Power Electronics,Electrical Machines and Drives (EEP)
  • M.Tech-Power Systems (EES)

20 May 2016 (Friday):
  • PhD